PDA

View Full Version : Overseeding

agm
02-13-2010, 07:56 PM
I know that the best time to overseed a lawn is in the fall, but can it be done in very early spring? I know that the seed competes with crabgrass and other lawn weeds but I have a new customer that wants it done. It's not a big area, probably about 900 sq.ft. of lawn. (I haven't measured it yet, just a rough estimate). I know how to do it, as I have been doing it for a few years, but I have never done it in the spring.

agm
02-13-2010, 11:18 PM
can anyone help?

Barefoot James
02-14-2010, 12:21 AM
Sure you can do it now and you will have 6 to 8 weeks to get the grass up, then you can use a pre to keep the weeds and crab back. Check out Soil Secrets @ Osuna Nursury, they have a terra pro humus and protein crumblie that will really help with soil pedogenesis.

agm
02-14-2010, 01:26 AM
thanks alot for the reply!

rwsawal04
02-14-2010, 04:35 PM
Don't you have to wait a while before applying preemerge to those young seedling.

agm
02-16-2010, 07:16 PM
I thought the same thing

DoetschOutdoor
02-16-2010, 07:55 PM
Agm, just do what ya know how to do as far as the prep and seeding and just make sure you use a high quality grass seed with no weeds in it. With the right growing, you should be able to get the grass up to strong enough after a few months that you can adress the weeds, if any then. Just keep a strong border on the other turf so none of the existing weeds creep into your new grass.

DoetschOutdoor
02-16-2010, 07:58 PM
Ooops, re read and now I think you are meaning overseed an existing area that already has grass and some weeds? How do you plan on getting seed in ground, aerator, slit seeder, ?

Barefoot James
02-16-2010, 08:01 PM
Seed early. Address weeds later.

agm
02-16-2010, 08:03 PM