PDA

View Full Version : Lawn installation by slit seeder

Kurto_15
02-19-2010, 06:03 PM
I am going to install a few lawns this spring and am going to be using a slit seeder to do so. I was wondering when in the spring is the best time to do this, what would be the best types of seed to use for a mostly sunny area and what would be a good starter fertilizer and rate to use? Any other advice is more than welcome as I am just starting out.
Thanks in advance

grassman177
02-20-2010, 03:55 AM
use a fescue and blugrass blend. up there i would guess to seed about the first to middle of april, and use about 8-10 lbs seed per K. any starter fert is good , but mostly look for balanced or higher P and K then N in your fert choice. make sure you dont put the fert down too heavy, depending on the fert ratios, you are looking at around 3-4.5 lbs per K for fert.

EcoGreen Services
02-20-2010, 07:06 AM
Take a look at http://www.ntep.org/ for varieties tested in your area as well as which specific brands were best.

As Grassman said, Fescue / Bluegass blends work well.

If Michigan is about the same as southern Ontario temperature wise. It's normally the second or third week of April before the ground temperature gets up to 65F Degrees. Sometimes it's been as late as mid May here. Just depends on the weather and when the frost comes out. I imagine it will be early this year with the winter we're having. My rule of thumb is always be ready to go April 1st

RigglePLC
02-20-2010, 09:24 AM
kurto,
You are almost in my back yard. By new lawns do you mean on bare soil? I am not sure if a slit seeder is the weapon of choice.
Anyway, around here a mixture of bluegrass and perennial rye is most often used. Try to find a mix of 80 percent blue and 20 percent rye. The rye is more aggressive as a seedling and will tend to crowd out the blue--so you end up with about a 50 50 mixture. One of my favorites is Lesco's "Athletic Blend". (not the ratio I would like.)