PDA

View Full Version : Social Security #

gumper48
02-25-2010, 07:28 AM
I have a mobile home park that I've been mowing for 15 years, the Park sold to two lawyers a year and a half ago. A couple of days ago get an email from one of them asking for my social security # to be used on a 1099 they need to issue me. I'm a little suspicious as I've never had to give it to any of the other owners . I have other commerciaal accounts and none of them have asked for my number.
I pay taxes on every penny I make, and carry $100,000. in liability ins..

Any reply appreciated

keith

AI Inc
02-25-2010, 07:31 AM
They will either need your SS# or your 04 # for tax purposes.

Turf Dawg
02-25-2010, 08:08 AM
All my commercial accounts have my social because lawn maintenance is a write off. I get 1099's every year from them.

CLARK LAWN
02-25-2010, 09:00 AM
if you have an EIN you can give them that

corey4671
02-25-2010, 09:04 AM
Like was said above, this is standard procedure. If you are a sole proprietor like me your EIN IS your SSN. Any other structure such as LLC you should have a seperate EIN for the business. I have two accounts that send me 1099's. I'm really surprised I don't get more than I do considering how many commercial accounts I have.

corey4671
02-25-2010, 09:05 AM
also someone out there correct me if I am wrong on this, but aren't 1099's supposed to be issued before Feb 1?

clydebusa
02-25-2010, 09:34 AM
They will either need your SS# or your 04 # for tax purposes.

Double Ditto, the lawyers are correct in needing the numbers.:hammerhead:

clydebusa
02-25-2010, 09:36 AM
should be done on or before January 31st. ,, but I have a few accts that are always a little late. No big deal for me, because I file taxes 1st of April.

Jason Rose
02-25-2010, 09:51 AM