PDA

View Full Version : Grooves in Grass from Mower

nr3832
02-26-2010, 04:29 PM
Im trying to hammer out some problems ive been having with my lawn company so any help from yall would be greatly appreciated. My main problem right now is that there is an indention in the grass from my mower when i mower around the flower beds and such. Any user friendly ideas on how to make the grade even again and are there any ways to avoid this problem in the future? Thanks.

fl-landscapes
02-26-2010, 04:34 PM
The ground is obviously compacting where the weight of the tire is going over the same area repeatedly. If you have a second mower with a different size deck and tire spacing switch off between mowings. Otherwise line trim the area instead of running your tires over the same spots. Aerate it to alleviate some of the compaction.

nr3832
02-26-2010, 04:38 PM
Im quite new to the profession, could you elaborate some on line trimming?

grassman177
02-26-2010, 05:14 PM
he means trim out farther so you change the path of the mower. when you get those spots, change the path and tim a bit more. alternate this from time to time and you wil help out tremendously

kjslawn
02-26-2010, 07:11 PM
Aerate those tire lines. Up one line down the other this always helps me. When mowing I checker board one yr the next yr go diagnal. I hate it when I see a lazy cutter just do the same thing yr after yr and the yard looks like ski mougals.

tyler_mott85
02-26-2010, 08:35 PM
Never circle a tree with your mower to begin with. This prevents the indention around the tree to begin with.

Landscraper1
02-26-2010, 08:39 PM
You should alternate cutting patterns weekly not yearly.

kjslawn
02-27-2010, 11:20 PM
I do one but I checker it one yr and diamond it the next yr

MowinginEureka
02-28-2010, 04:20 AM