PDA

View Full Version : Red Thread Advice

SterlingLawn
06-11-2002, 10:14 PM
I'm in my first year as a licenced applicator and need some advice on dealing with a very particular customer who has a red thread problem in his back yard. I have searched the past threads and spoke to my Lesco rep about treatment and the general consensus seems to be that not many are treating with fungicide due to cost and just fertilize to "grow out". There seems to be many conflicting opinions and I'm not sure what to advise customer. He's afraid of losing lawn and hates appearance obviously. I'm not thrilled either. Hit the lawn with 24-5-11 today. Will this improve it? Does it in fact grow out or can I expect to renovate? Does this eventually lead to other problems such as Brown Patch? Why isn't his neighbors on either side being affected? He lives on golf course which has a problem with red thread. When can expect it to get better and should I cut higher and/or bag? Sorry, rather wordy but these are all things that Ive been reading and hearing. Thanks

Turfdude
06-11-2002, 10:39 PM
Rule #1
Any lawn w/ a fungus must be bagged to avoid spreading fungus.
Next, have client water in app. very well. If no results in 10 days, apply a fungicide labeled for red thread and water in accordingly (if dry fungicide).

Red thread usually indicates lack of N.

Bob

SterlingLawn
06-11-2002, 11:29 PM
Thanks. Will the affected areas return to a normal healthy lawn or will they require renovation?

MATTHEW
06-11-2002, 11:48 PM
As long as host+pathogen+cool, wet weather is present, you will get re-occurence of red thread. I have had excellent results with Bayleton. 2 months so far in a real problem lawn... no red thread.

tremor
06-12-2002, 09:08 AM
Red Thread rarely kills turf to the crown. But it looks awful. As the weather changes & the fert kicks in, the turf will recover. This takes time since you have to wait while the individual grass plants regrow all or most of their leaves.