PDA

View Full Version : Pricing a landscape job

Sanderlin
03-02-2010, 07:56 PM
I have a customer that wants to do a landscape job on her front yard. Sod, schrubs, stacked rock beds, irrigation system and walkways. The total cost of materials for this job will be $2100-2500. What is a good way to price the job. I would normaly double this and make it a even 5000 for the whole job. Is that how most of yall do it or is that not enough? I don't want to overbid the project but I don't want to cut my throat either. I have been doing lawncare for 8 years and im just starting to try a few landscaping jobs and havent figured out the best way to price it.

dclandscape
03-02-2010, 08:21 PM
Are you serious.....

Sanderlin
03-02-2010, 08:35 PM
Am I serious about what?

tyler_mott85
03-02-2010, 09:25 PM
You need to break it down more than just doubling prices for landscape jobs.

At minimum you need to know exactly how many plants you are going to be planting. Figure out how long it will take to plant each plant (little hint: it takes the same amount of time to install a 2gallon plant vs a 3gallon plant) and then multiply your Hourly Rate x Number of Plants x How long to plant each plant.

Then you need to do the same thing for the Sod and the stone wall. Figure out how long it will take to lay, say...100 sq ft of sod...then do the same multiplication. How long to stack 10 sq ft of linear wall? Same multiplication.

Ask yourself how long will it take to take out the old bushes...get the ground ready for the sod. Add that onto the end too.

Then if you will be disposing of stuff you will need to charge a fee for that.

Then when you get all that added up...being as thorough as possible add 10% at least onto the back side to cover any hidden obstacles or foul weather problems.