PDA

View Full Version : Never done landscape ties before- price ideas?

columbiaplower
06-20-2002, 04:18 AM
ok heres the deal- a regular customer wants about 90, eight foot landscape ties replaced. they range from 1 tie to 4 ties stacked. There wont be too much cutting (a few angles and some cut for staggering.) Old ties must be removed (about one load with the truck and trailer to the dump 20mins away) want to use spikes to hold it all together. may need to level the area the old ties were(ruts where they sank). any ways other than spikes to fasten? will need to pre drill holes for spikes. Wants a far price for this?

thanks
-nick

ADLAWNCUTTERS
06-20-2002, 04:31 AM
im no landscape expert,but i have done this before. i use a big drill & a long wood bit and dill them once thier in place. forget those stupid spikes . use 1/2 inch rebar and pound them in. im not sure what to charge i would charge approx .3,500 but thats just a guess.im sure there are guys that know what to charge. it is ball busting work and you should be paid well.

Evan528
06-20-2002, 09:45 PM
Figure out a price based on how many hours it will take......... THEN DOUBLE IT!!!!!!!! We just finished a noce sized landscape project and part of it included replaced several 15yr old landscape tie walls. What a PITA!!!! It took me at least twice as I had long as I had figured. I used 1/2 inch rebar through the first 2 layers then used timber lock screws for each layer above. DO NOT SKIMP ON YOUR PRICE!!! Figure on the rebar going in crooked several times and having to throw out several timbers.....

AGLA
06-21-2002, 07:17 AM
First make sure that the dump will accept old ties and how much they will charge. Put in the contract that the dump charges are extra. Figure a flat fee to load and haul each truck load on top of the dump charge. That will cover your tail and not panic the customer. I really don't think you are going to get 90 RR ties to the dump in one load.