PDA

View Full Version : Paver Drainage Question

toppslandscaping
03-26-2010, 11:48 PM
I'm looking to do a patio over cement. The patio is in great shape. I called two different paver companies. One company suggested I drill weep holes in the cemement and fill with gravel for drainage. Another supplier told me that this is not needed and a 1" base of sand will be fine. I'm worried about the thraw, freeze cycles and don't want the pavers to heave or deterioate.

Another alternative is to build up the border of cement patio with larger stone to create like an area that would let me add 4" base of the patio and then lay my sand and pavers.

Any help is appreciated. This is my first time bidding on a job like this.

ALLPro Landscaping
03-26-2010, 11:53 PM
what kind of patio are you doing, pavers, etc, is this your first job, why not just take the concrete out and start fresh

Paver Gangster
03-27-2010, 02:03 AM
Based on what you posted, it sounds like Supplier #1 has done his homework, as this is one of the correct steps in doing a paver overlay on concrete (not cement). If you go on the ICPI website you should be able to download a cross section that looks like what he is trying to explain to you.

Supplier #2 needs ICPI training.

No idea what you are talking about with the 4" deal, however.

ALLPro Landscaping
03-27-2010, 02:07 AM
Paver, thats what I dont understand, whats up with base sand and as you posted, here we find another non icpi contractor ripping someone off

Paver Gangster
03-27-2010, 02:17 AM
Well, I have to disagree with that, I don't think the poster is trying to rip off anyone, at least he took the right step and came here to try and get the right advice.

What scares me is any contractor that looks to paver suppliers for advice. I hate to say it, but my experience is that a lot of distributors have their heads completely up their arse when it comes to passing on proper installation techniques to customers.