PDA

View Full Version : Customer wants me to widen chain link fence.

grassyfras
03-31-2010, 01:12 AM
I brought up widening a chain link fence gate to a customer so that I could get a bigger mower in the backyard. He said that he would like me to price it out. I have never done this before and would be willing to do it for cost. Anyone have any idea of cost and time to do something like this? Would you charge your regular hourly rate if you knew that this customer would be with you for several years and it would save you a headache every week by not having to bring the 36" mower?

topsites
03-31-2010, 01:16 AM
No but I know how to make an entire section of wooden fence "removable" :p
For real, not a joke, so the whole section can be taken out, the equipment moved through, and so on...

I did my first one at cost, $75.
Not worth it in my opinion, other than for the experience, it was a neat project.

But you're not the first to think of it, if the right customer came along I'd probably consider it all over again.
Not sure what to tell you, where on LS the folks who do this kind of work might hang out...

The way I did mine is I saw it done on another yard, thought it was the neatest thing, was itching to try it.

Hawg City Lawns
03-31-2010, 01:40 AM
No but I know how to make an entire section of wooden fence "removable" :p
For real, not a joke, so the whole section can be taken out, the equipment moved through, and so on...

I did my first one at cost, $75.
Not worth it in my opinion, other than for the experience, it was a neat project.

But you're not the first to think of it, if the right customer came along I'd probably consider it all over again.
Not sure what to tell you, where on LS the folks who do this kind of work might hang out...

The way I did mine is I saw it done on another yard, thought it was the neatest thing, was itching to try it.