PDA

View Full Version : Replacing lamps


RLI Electric
03-31-2010, 08:07 AM
Anyone find replacing a MR16 lamp in a Vista is not as easy as one would assume. I have had 2 fixtures that the replacement lamps did not want to go easily. Just wondering if it was just a couple of lemons that I came across or this is a common thing.

sprinkler guy
03-31-2010, 11:55 AM
I've found it a pain, especially on their aluminum and composite spotlight fixtures that have a retention screw for the top, instead of a twist off. Over time it gets a little crud built up and makes it hard to unscrew. Sometimes the leads on the socket were tied off too low, so the socket won't come all the way out to make putting in the bulb easy.

Tim R.
03-31-2010, 03:43 PM
I havn't had to much problem with them other than the socket sometimes doesn't want to accept the pin. Usually the case of it being an old style socket without the springs.

Pro-Scapes
04-02-2010, 08:16 AM
Even on the ones with the springs you need to take a peek in the pin hole. Make sure you are trying to insert the lamp in between the 2 tabs and not between the tab and the spring.