PDA

View Full Version : Just went for a JD 830A

BCPHOTO
04-01-2010, 05:43 PM
First I want to say "thanks" to all the pros who post here. You have been very helpful with my selection process. This is a great forum. I'm not a pro so I try to stay out of the way. But I have 5 acres of bumpy flat ground with a lot of trees and out buildings. I've gotten tired of trying to upkeep this with two older Craftsman mowers that have been patched up with steel brackets from the hardware store -- bungee cords hold up the discharge rubber flaps. One unit has a bent deck from hitting a stump -- the newer tractor won't turn to the left. So I have been reading this forum extensively for a season and through the winter.

I checked almost all the brands -- couldn't find a commercial Toro dealer anywhere near -- Scag was nice but expensive -- Gravely a good buy but the dealer gave them up -- Dixon too expensive for what they are -- Exmark just too expensive-- Dixie's just shaky looking. The new Cub Cadets were rusted sitting in the lot and the Tank was two years old.

Grasshoppers looked nice and I settled on buying a used one but I still needed to check out John Deere. I did today and WOW -- the dealership is nearby and is huge. I looked at several used models that were turned in by a landscaper and settled on an 830A with 640 hours. It had the big block kawa with the 7 Iron 60" deck. The condition was almost new -- very little wear -- just on the deck wheels/rollers. The arm rests weren't even worn. It had the mods from the factory so it didn't need the rear weights, and still had some time left on warranty. I think this thing will last me forever.

Dealer here: http://www.smithimplements.com/Dealer-Information/Store-Locations/Snead,-AL.aspx

It was $6400 and I'm as happy as a pig in poop.

Thanks to all,

BC

Hope, Indiana

ALC-GregH
04-01-2010, 06:36 PM