PDA

View Full Version : Looking for some advice for leveling work and cement blocks

Marinucci_Landscaping
04-02-2010, 04:31 PM
Hey all,

I hope I put this in the right forums, and if I didn't, please move it to the appropriate section. Basically, I have a customer who has a bunch of cement blocks of varying sizes that surround a pool pump, and extends her patio. The customer explained that about every 5-10 years she has to have them leveled, as they need to be now. I am basically looking for some advice on how to go about doing this.

I'm not completely dark on this process, but I want to make sure I'm not missing anything here - I am no expert on this kind of work (haven't tackled a problem like this before). To begin, dig about six inches deep under the blocks, and fill about 4 inches with Paver Base Step 1. Next, fill 2 inches with leveling sand (Paver Base Step 2). Wet it, stamp it down, replace the blocks... done deal.

Am I missing anything here? Also, would you recommend using patio edgers to keep the materials from shifting around? I want to create about as permanent a solution as I can, keeping in mind she doesn't want to pour cement. To wrap it up, I figure I would replace the stone surrounding the blocks with something similar, and place weed-fabric underneath it to help block out weeds.

I enclosed some pictures to hopefully give you an idea of what I'm working with here. I need to try and figure how to estimate the labor on this, 2 guys working... any tips here would be greatly appreciated. This is all new territory for me, but I don't think it would be beyond my skill set. Thank you very much in advance.

- Marinucci

betmr
04-02-2010, 05:27 PM