PDA

View Full Version : Priceing mulching and fertilization jobs

ShaneLawnCare
04-04-2010, 01:13 PM
This is my first year in business and I am wondering how to price a remulching job and fertilization. Thanks

LwnmwrMan22
04-04-2010, 01:16 PM
2.5x's the cost of the mulch, total price. Check with your state, most likely you have to be licensed to spread fertilizer, especially crabgrass preventer or weed-n-feed.

Probably check with your state's department of agriculture.

ShaneLawnCare
04-04-2010, 02:29 PM
Thank you and I will check

Hoy landscaping
04-04-2010, 05:55 PM
yeah be careful with the fert. i didnt kno i needed a license for a while

ALC-GregH
04-04-2010, 07:39 PM
yeah be careful with the fert. i didnt kno i needed a license for a while

I was told that you don't need a license to put down fert, you only need it for anything ending is "cides". I was told this 2 years ago. Maybe I'll call to confirm.

Hoy landscaping
04-04-2010, 07:49 PM
i read on the AG departments website that theres a pesticide license. im not sure what it covers

MOW ED
04-04-2010, 09:01 PM
The best way to price is to give it away the first year and see what happens in year 2.

Not to be a huge smart azz but what are you thinking of charging? What are your expenses. Overhead, Insurance, equipment , wages, on and on. I wouldn't take anyones advice on what to charge until you know what your business NEEDS to charge.

Good Luck.

stephen424
04-04-2010, 09:23 PM
just charge $30 per yard, plus the price of the mulch...since it's your first year in business. this is not a lowball price, but it's not the biggest profitable price either....right in the middle.
you should be able to spread 1 yard/hour. and once you find your rhythm, you should be able to spread the 2nd yard in 45 minutes, and the 3rd yard in 30 minutes.
and i'm talking scoop - wheel barrow - dump - spread!

thats how i price my mulch jobs. this is what i tell my customers...