PDA

View Full Version : First Walkbehind

smassengill
04-05-2010, 10:35 PM
My Deere Z-Track is being serviced so I had to borrow my buddy's cub cadet walk-behind today. I have only used little push mowers and ZTR's before, never a walk-behind. I HATED IT. I couldn't get used to maneuvering it around obstacles and making short passes with all of the turning gets to be incredibly annoying. I don't see myself ever buying one.

NJgunner
04-05-2010, 10:52 PM
Interesting, im considering a walk behind for my piece. I have a 21" thats manuverable. I was looking at red hawks and ariens..I was told if they are not 'dual drive' u have to muscle them. I have never used one either.

smassengill
04-05-2010, 11:18 PM
Yeah it was a real pain for me. I couldn't imagine using one full-time. Also, this one had the pistol grips and I feel the T-Bar design would be much easier.
Posted via Mobile Device

Basilhayden
04-06-2010, 12:01 AM
yeah, this is my first year part time and I have done about ten yards so far with my belt drive scag and I already hate it. I am putting away every dollar that I can so I can get something else as soon as possible. It is a 36" so I guess I will keep it for backyards with gates. I hope I don't develop carpal tunnel before I can upgrade.

smassengill
04-06-2010, 12:14 PM
Haha feathering the drive throttle while turning will definetly cause some hand pains.
Posted via Mobile Device

John_DeereGreen
04-06-2010, 02:37 PM
I will NEVER operate, or have my operators, use another MMZ for anything under 2 acres.

Once you or your operators learn how to use wide area walks, you'll never go back.

There's SO much more control with a wide area walk, they will always be in my fleet.

And before anyone says anything, we've got Cub Cadet Commercial hydro's...

Richard Martin
04-06-2010, 02:59 PM