PDA

View Full Version : pricing

steel05
04-08-2010, 11:26 PM
A customer wants a quote on checking her lighting. I'm assuming angles, bulbs, etc. My question is how do I price this? I'm new to lighting. I was just curious how others quote something like this. Thanks for your time.

sal rodriguez
04-08-2010, 11:38 PM
Best would be T & M.

NightScenes
04-08-2010, 11:50 PM
I agree, never give a price for something that you're not sure of.

Pro-Scapes
04-09-2010, 12:07 AM
I agree too. If you did not install it and have no idea whats going on with it then it needs to be time plus materials. I would bill it as a service call which includes arrival and the first hour of labor plus materials. If it takes longer than an hour it is billed in 15 min incriments plus materials.

David Gretzmier
04-09-2010, 11:16 PM
It may be different where you are than here, but I have never been called in on a system that was installed properly by any shape or fashion. I only have one competitor here locally that does good landscape lighting work, and I have never been behind him on his systems.

So I go to all repair jobs and I find the same thing- trans is usually over loaded and no longer puts out voltage properly. voltage at fixtures is usually very low, mainly because connections are usually compromised, corrosion is rampant not only in the wire but the leads to the fixtures. many times the sockets have never been greased, and the pins from the mr-16's or bi pins have rotted off in the sockets. lenses are clouded over to the point CLR won't even get it off. So while I have went through and rebuilt fixtures with new sockets, o-rings, rebulbed, re-wired and replaced transformers, it is by far better to just replace it all. Time wise it is quicker. but on repair jobs, most folks are thinking a few hundred dollars not a few thousand. I have converted many of them to full new systems, but I'd say it is about half and half.

sal rodriguez
04-09-2010, 11:39 PM