PDA

View Full Version : Blades won't turn off on Bunton WB

dk2679
04-10-2010, 09:30 PM
I have a early to mid 90's Bunton Walk Behind and the blades will not turn off. It is a pull start and the blades are engaged when i start it even though lever is in the off position. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. :usflag:

topsites
04-10-2010, 09:46 PM
I'm assuming it's a hydraulic clutch, in which case it's probably a bad switch.
Try unhooking one of the cables and see if it will let go.

But you said a lever?
What the hell ...
Have you tried pulling it the other way to see if it will disengage the belt?

I mean you're going to have to pull the deck cover off and see what is down there,
the entire mechanism isn't too complicated, might just be stuck or a piece broken.

Jason Pallas
04-10-2010, 09:50 PM
Electric Clutch or manual? Makes a big difference. I have owned both (Buntons) I can help you - but need to know which.

dk2679
04-10-2010, 09:55 PM
I'm no mechanic by any means but here is what I am seeing. The lever is connected to 2rods down to a tensioner pulley??? When you engage this lever the pulley then tensions the belt from the crankshaft to the middle blade. Then another belt is underneath the middle blade spindle which runs to the other two blades. When I try and pull start the mower the belt from the crankshaft to pto to middle blade spindle is turning therefore all blades are turning as I am trying to start the machine.

dk2679
04-10-2010, 09:56 PM
manual clutch

dk2679
04-11-2010, 09:21 AM
bump

:usflag::usflag::usflag::usflag::usflag::usflag:

Jason Pallas
04-11-2010, 09:38 AM
OK there are several belt guides along the path of that middle belt (from the engine to the middle pulley/spindle). There are two on the deck near the pulley and there are a couple underneath the engine deck. My guess is that one of these have loosened up and moved out of place..... or that the belt has slipped over one of these guides.