PDA

View Full Version : Market research on LED landscaping lighting..

ZanneNx
04-11-2010, 02:24 PM
You can skip down to the main question if you do not feel like reading all of this :)

Hello everyone,
I'm currently an engineering student taking a entrepreneurial class and we have to prepare a business plan. I chose to do one on for a LED landscape lighting company since I have interested in starting one myself. I just found this site today so I haven't looked around too much yet, but I definitely plan on spending a lot of time here reading as much as I can.

Here is a little backround on me:
I am currently a materials/mechanical engineering sophomore student. I have experience working a LED lighting company Lamina Lighting(now Lighting Science Group) where I learned too much to list. I have also conducted research on developing high CRI, low CTT quantum dots for use with LEDs while at school. On the side I sell loose LEDs such as Cree, Seoul Semiconductor, and Luxeon LEDs. I am well versed in CAD softwares such as Pro/E, NX6, Catia, Solidworks and have machining experience and knowledge. I feel that the only aspects I am missing in designing my own landscaping lights to sell to a market would be designing the driver, optical system, and aesthetic design. I also have experience retro fitting some of the landscaping lights at my house with LED.

My vision for the company: