PDA

View Full Version : Just bought a used skid sprayer. Any advice?

maelawncare
04-11-2010, 02:55 PM
Well i finally upgraded from my synergy sprayer to a lesco 200 gal skid. Man what a upgrade. :D i am stoked. It has a few slow drips on 1 line and the gearbox leaks some fluid. But other than that it runs great.

I used it for the first time today. Sprayed out 50 gallons with speedzone and it went along smoothly. I used the lightest amount possible as i didnt want it too hot since im still learning the sprayer. It has the chem lawn gun with the yellow tip.

Is there any tips or common advice to using these? I need to get the leak fixed on the gear box and redo the line that is dripping to stop that. But that will come later.

RigglePLC
04-11-2010, 05:37 PM
Don't let the oil (90 w gear lube) get low in the gearbox--rather expensive to replace. Makes a horrible noise when the gears are stripping out. Should be high enough so there is slight drainage out the oil check plug, when it is removed.

maelawncare
04-11-2010, 08:03 PM
Don't let the oil (90 w gear lube) get low in the gearbox--rather expensive to replace. Makes a horrible noise when the gears are stripping out. Should be high enough so there is slight drainage out the oil check plug, when it is removed.

Ok good to know. I dont know if its cause of new oil or just the fact that its low but i cant see the oil on the dip stick.

Anyone know where i can get new seals for the gearbox?

SeedPro
04-11-2010, 09:14 PM
You need to fix the leak yesterday and I personally would have flushed the entire sprayer hose and pump out before I sprayed it in anything. You never know what residues are in there or what it was used for last.

And you damn well better see some oil on the dipstick, or you need new glasses or more oil!

jasontimm
04-11-2010, 11:12 PM