PDA

View Full Version : Stihl vs. Echo

jtruck618
04-13-2010, 12:19 PM
I'm looking for a new trimmer and leaning toward the Stihl FS 55. However, there is an Echo dealer in my area as well. Both feel good but not sure which to get. I have a Stihl with curved shaft now but I want a straight shaft. So, can I go wrong with either. Any reason I should pick one over the other?
Posted via Mobile Device

RugerRedhawk
04-13-2010, 12:51 PM
I'm not a pro, but I don't think you can go wrong with either. My echo SRM-21 is about 15 years old and still runs like a top with very little maintenance ever been done on it.

whitenack
04-15-2010, 08:36 AM
I am in the same boat. Looking at Stihl vs. Echo. The only difference I can really see is that Stihls have bigger engines, and maybe a reputation of being heavier duty. Since the price is the same, I am leaning to Stihl.

RugerRedhawk
04-15-2010, 09:40 AM
Stihls have bigger engines, and maybe a reputation of being heavier duty.

I think if you had to pick one to be the one with a reputation for being heavier duty, I think echo would be the one. Not saying the stihl isn't good though. For a homeowner I think either of them will last a lifetime.

whitenack
04-15-2010, 10:23 AM
I think if you had to pick one to be the one with a reputation for being heavier duty, I think echo would be the one. Not saying the stihl isn't good though. For a homeowner I think either of them will last a lifetime.

Interesting. I guess that goes to show how companies can have different reputations in different parts of the countries. With Echo sold in the big box stores and Stihl only available through dealers, the fact that Echos are smaller engine'd, and the fact that echos and stihls look almost identical, I'd say most folks in our area believe Echo is a low-cost option made by Stihl.

RugerRedhawk
04-15-2010, 10:31 AM