PDA

View Full Version : What type of seed to use

tmanmi
04-13-2010, 04:22 PM
I'm looking at over seeding or slit seeding an area that surrounds a KBG seeding. The KBG seeding area is my main yard and the new area to be seeded was basically hilly pasture area that surrounds it that I have been mowing for about the past 5 years. The existing grasses are getting overtaken slowly by broadleaf weeds. It is fairly delicate and it could be prone to erosion so I need to get some kind of grass established. Is there something that will not invade the KBG that is less expensive than the KBG or should I quite being a cheap a$$ and just pay for the KBG? The area to be seeded is going to be about 2 acres. I am in southern Michigan

cpa4t9r
04-13-2010, 04:28 PM
Not sure about MI zone, but I would think that a tall fescue or TTTF/KBG blend would be the way to go (that's what most grow down here) - maybe even Perennial Rye. The TTTF won't spread unless you put a seed there. Gotta get the BL beat down to lessen the competition.

tmanmi
04-13-2010, 05:01 PM
Not sure about MI zone, but I would think that a tall fescue or TTTF/KBG blend would be the way to go (that's what most grow down here) - maybe even Perennial Rye. The TTTF won't spread unless you put a seed there. Gotta get the BL beat down to lessen the competition.

I was wondering if there was a fescue that wouldn't invade or that doesn't grow in clumps. I think I have some tall fescue in the KBG that looks like crap, maybe not turf type?. I'm afraid to kill off the BL until I get something seeded for fear of erosion. Thanks for the reply.

tombo82685
04-13-2010, 08:01 PM
I was wondering if there was a fescue that wouldn't invade or that doesn't grow in clumps. I think I have some tall fescue in the KBG that looks like crap, maybe not turf type?. I'm afraid to kill off the BL until I get something seeded for fear of erosion. Thanks for the reply.