PDA

View Full Version : 2 or 4WD

Mr Distinctive
07-02-2002, 04:20 AM
I am new to the lawn care business and need to buy a new truck AND a family car. I was wondering about combining the two and going for the Chevy Avalanche.

Two questions:-

1. Do I really need 4WD for a residential based Lawn Biz? and
2. What does anybody think of the Chevy Avalanche?

with thanks

ADLAWNCUTTERS
07-02-2002, 05:43 AM
im no expert it depends on what you are going to do. if you just do cutting then you could just do fine by using a larger trailer that will hold all your mowers and tools etc.if you do a little landscaping once in a while just use your open trailer.here in buffalo 4/4 is a must. if their is not that much difference in price get the 4/4. but in florida i don't think you will need it.

Mowingman
07-02-2002, 08:07 AM
Generally a 4x4 is more expensive to buy and more expensive to operate and maintain. I can not see why you need one for residential work if you are not plowing. You could better spend the money on a two wheel drive with heavy suspension and a diesel engine. I always get a laugh here when I see these new LCO's driving around in big fancy 4x4 pickups. They never get near a mud road and we have not had a good snow storm in about 8 years.:D :confused:

rkbrown
07-02-2002, 09:55 AM
I have a 2001 Ford F-250 Crew Cab Diesel for the business and also as a family vehicle. We tow a 21' Aljo travel trailer and at times I tow a 16' boat to the lake. Rather than the 4x4, I have limited slip differential. For my applications it works fine. Even on slippery boat ramps, the limited slip works just fine. If I was in snow country, however, a 4x4 would be a must for me.