PDA

View Full Version : Trailer Not Recognized with Brake Controller

Mack77
04-26-2010, 01:09 PM
I have the P3 brake controller, and looking to tow a trailer I purchased used with 4 drum brakes. It's all wired up, but the controller is not recognizing a trailer is connected.

I purchased the OEM wiring harness that clips into the factory wiring, connected the trailer and nothing happens. Am I missing something?

(This is my first time connecting a trailer with brakes.)

THANKS!

CLARK LAWN
04-26-2010, 01:44 PM
do you have power at the plug at the rear of the truck? these are very simple to wire. if all good in the truck side then start checking all you connections on the trailer.

Mack77
04-26-2010, 02:58 PM
All I have is the plug connected under the dash and the 7-pin OEM hitch set up at the rear of the truck. Do I need a separate battery on the trailer to get the brakes to work, or is power drawn from the tow vehicle?

All lights work, turn signals, brake lights, etc. Just no power to the breaks.

The trailer also has a break away kit, how do these work?

kps2389
04-26-2010, 03:23 PM
Make sure you have the brake controller wired correctly. When I put the break controller in my truck I just matched the wire colors from the controller to the factory plug and harness. It ended up being wrong the colors were different. As for the break away system you need to hook the cable on the safety chain and if the coupler comes off the ball it will plug out the plug and lock up the brakes.

CLARK LAWN
04-26-2010, 06:02 PM
All I have is the plug connected under the dash and the 7-pin OEM hitch set up at the rear of the truck. Do I need a separate battery on the trailer to get the brakes to work, or is power drawn from the tow vehicle?

All lights work, turn signals, brake lights, etc. Just no power to the breaks.

The trailer also has a break away kit, how do these work?