PDA

View Full Version : What type blade sharpener?

haynestotallawn
07-05-2002, 08:15 AM
For those of you who sharpen your own blades, which type blade sharpener do you use? I am new to blade sharpening so I have only a small idea about the different types out their. I do know that having to get someone else to do it is a pain and expensive. All help would be appreciated.

rvsuper
07-05-2002, 09:39 AM
I still use an angle grinder, but sooner or later in going to upgrade to a Magna-Matic.

wxmn6
07-05-2002, 05:45 PM
I have been using Fireball JR X for a few months and I am impressed with its performance. It is a 1 HP with 8" grinder stone blade sharpener. It only takes about 15 passes then its done. Usually I resharpen the blades after every 10 hours of operation. After sharpening, I use Magna Matic blade balancer to balance the blades which is very accurate. Also it have a gauge to check if blade is bent or not.

hoagie
07-05-2002, 07:12 PM
After using an old RGB for a few yrs (working for someone else) and then having to pay $25 for 2 sets to be only semi sharpened at the local dealer, I picked up a MAG-9000 from magna matic.

I have to say that this thing is ******* incredible... it puts a razor sharp edge down in no time. And the balancer is unbelievable too.... I dont know how I ever did w/ out one. Dont even waste your time w/ other brands... sure it may be a little more expensive, but WELL WORTH IT.

Please don't misspell this word to get around the autiomatic sensor. We've all heard the words before. Don't need to use them here though.

odin
07-05-2002, 07:20 PM
we been useing a rbg 3410 but when it plays out i think we will try the magna matic .
Love the magna matic balancer

Green Care
07-05-2002, 07:21 PM
I use a old lesco.

wrtenterprises
07-05-2002, 07:37 PM