PDA

View Full Version : John Deere 314 help


mopar4u
05-02-2010, 03:53 PM
1. Wondering if someone could take a picture of the carb and governor linkages. Whoever had the 314 before me messed with everything.

2. Just finished mowing. I noticed that it leaves a strip of uncut grass only in the corners. Slow or fast in the corners didn't matter. What causes this? My snapper rear engine rider cut better in the corners than my 314. This will be the 2nd John Deere I've had that has done this and I can't seem to fix it.

Restrorob
05-02-2010, 07:58 PM
1. Wondering if someone could take a picture of the carb and governor linkages.

Need the engine model AND spec numbers.....

mopar4u
05-02-2010, 08:58 PM
Kohler 14hp model K321
equipped with kohler built adjustable carb

Restrorob
05-03-2010, 07:54 AM
Best I can do without a spec number.....


http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m314/Restrorob/Kohler/K%20Series/KohlerKThrottleLinkage.jpg

mopar4u
05-03-2010, 01:18 PM
thanks

is it safe to assumbe the linkages hole locations in the picture are where mine should be at?

Restrorob
05-03-2010, 01:28 PM
For most applications I'd say yes, Put them as above then adjust the governor/high speed rpm as needed.

mopar4u
05-04-2010, 01:30 PM
Here is a picture of my setup. Does the governor spring look correct or did someone throw on a make shift spring? Would you say the governor spring that attaches on the right side of the carb is in the wrong location?

What does the threaded rod above the carb do if you start adjusting it?

Restrorob
05-04-2010, 08:18 PM
I see nothing at all wrong with the throttle controls on that engine, I wouldn't move anything including the carb link/rod to the governor arm.

What kind of problem are you having that makes you think all the controls are out of whack ?

mopar4u
05-05-2010, 07:13 AM
I see nothing at all wrong with the throttle controls on that engine, I wouldn't move anything including the carb link/rod to the governor arm.

What kind of problem are you having that makes you think all the controls are out of whack ?

Guy I bought it from said when it had the snowblower attachment on and when he hit snow it would really bog. He had the governor spring hooked into thebottom hole on the governor adjuster. He also set it up so that under no load the could over rev at full throttle but under load with snow it didn't over rev but was perfect for power.

When I got it I adjusted the max rpm down and noticed it hunted a little. Moved the spring to where it is now. Seems to run ok now. I also noticed that it doesn't use the full travel of the throttle, meaning if I setup max rpm with the orange throttle lever all the way up, idle will be about halfway between rabbit and turtle. Doesn't seem right
Posted via Mobile Device

Restrorob
05-05-2010, 12:13 PM
if I setup max rpm with the orange throttle lever all the way up, idle will be about halfway between rabbit and turtle.


Set your throttle control to idle (turtle) position then loosen the cable hold-down clamp on the engine, Slide the cable housing in or out of the clamp until just before engine speed picks up from idle then tighten.

This should give you full travel on your throttle control.

wilsonbh
07-06-2013, 06:23 PM
My old John Deere 314 just turned off while mowing the yard. Was like it was turned off by the key. I checked the spark plug and there was no spark. I looked at the points and they had no spark either. Could the points be bad?

Any advice is appreciated.

Bill

wilsonbh@bellsouth.net

Restrorob
07-06-2013, 07:32 PM
Bill,


Are you getting battery voltage to the + (positive) post on the ignition coil with the key on ?

How about voltage on the - (negitive) post on the coil ?

wilsonbh
07-07-2013, 05:48 AM
I will check this first thing this morning. I did just replace the battery a couple of weeks ago, so there is plenty of power.

The odd thing is the machine turned off while running, as if I turned off the key. I'm pretty sure the problem is electrical. No spark on the spark plug and none seen on the points.

I'll check the coil next.

Bill

wilsonbh
07-07-2013, 06:47 PM
OK, I checked the terminals on each side of the coil and I get 12v readings. So power is getting there. Going to investigate replacing the points next.

wilsonbh
07-08-2013, 05:43 AM
What worries me is I get no spark on both the spark plug and the points. Anyone know what could cause this?

Restrorob
07-08-2013, 07:54 AM
A shorted/bad condenser...... No power to the points......

wilsonbh
07-08-2013, 01:23 PM
OK, new condenser and still no spark to the points. Bummer!!! Think the coil could be bad or the resistor? Yard is getting high....

Restrorob
07-08-2013, 03:38 PM
Let me get this straight...... You put a new condenser in without new points ?

Not saying new points is the fix, But I've seen them short out and stop spark...... Are you getting voltage TO (AT) the points ?

They should be gaped at .020"......

wilsonbh
07-08-2013, 03:41 PM
Yes, new condenser and no points. Will buy some new ones and try that next. would you know a source where I could buy these? The local small engine shop doesn't have them.

Restrorob
07-08-2013, 09:24 PM
You can order from either place below, But with the cost of shipping I'd add a couple extra maintenance parts like air filter-precleaner-spark plug and fuel filter etc.....

http://www.stenspartsdirect.com/product_info.php?products_id=1100

http://tewarehouse.com/055-145

wilsonbh
07-09-2013, 04:30 AM
Parts ordered and should have them by Friday.

Was wondering if I can disconnect that seat cut off switch by simply unplugging it? It is more trouble than value to me.

wilsonbh
07-15-2013, 07:05 AM
The points and new condenser should arrive today by mail. I'll install it and hope for the best.

I unplugged the seat cutoff switch on the seat, will that cause any issues?

wilsonbh
07-15-2013, 02:38 PM
Put in the new points and new condenser and still no spark at all, nothing. Anyone have any ideas here? What could turn off the spark while the mower is running? Should I replace the coil? Any suggestions is greatly appreciated....

Bill

Restrorob
07-15-2013, 08:35 PM
OK, I checked the terminals on each side of the coil and I get 12v readings. So power is getting there.


Bill,

Do you get these same 12 volt readings on both coil wire terminals while cranking the engine over ?

If you unplug the seat switch these wires have to be connected together, In other words put a jumper wire across the seat switch plug connector......