PDA

View Full Version : advantages of hydro vs. gear

jhawk71
07-05-2002, 11:20 PM
On a walkbehind what are the advantages of hydro vs. gear? The only difference that I know of is you dont have to shift. Well i am new to the buisness so i was just wandering.
Jhawk71

Firefighter Dave
07-06-2002, 04:19 PM
I am also new and have been looking at the differances in mowers. I started my own business this year (just using a redneck 21" push mower) but want to really dig in next year. I have pinned my choice down to the Exmark HP 48". This is a Belt driven mower. The differances that I found out was price... about $3,000 more. The only thing the sales man said was that thier could be a lot of slipping of the belt if the grass is wet. But the only time it would slip is if you were trying to go all out. You'll just have to cut a bit slower or cut when the grass drys some more. I am not looking to make a career out of this business. This is something I do on the side. But if your going to be rushing to one job to another you might want to get the hydro drive so you don't have to wait for the dew to dry.

Dave

:blob2:

rodfather
07-06-2002, 05:03 PM
and the answer is...THE WORLD

odin
07-06-2002, 05:30 PM
The difference is like night and day the hydro is better all the way round.
When you back up the reverse is instant and also after a 12 hour day you will be less tired then when driveing a belt drive.
A hydro wont slip like a belt drive in wet conditions and the hydro is just much more productive.
If a belt drive is all you can afford it is still a good choice but wont be as productive as its hydro cousin would be.

MOW ED
07-06-2002, 07:56 PM
Speed
time=money

simple formula.
Mow faster make mow money.

Hydro is the only way to go. No shifting, slipping drive belts, higher resale and better reliability. Don't look at price, its a piece of machinery. You buy it to make money. You will sell it and make money.

Doc Pete
07-06-2002, 10:00 PM