PDA

View Full Version : Kawasaki 21HP Not Charging

zukota
05-03-2010, 04:42 PM
Recently purchased Ferris, with a FH641v not charging. I didn't know it wasn't charging until it wouldn't start, about 3 PTO hours later. I'm new to these Kawasakis, and don't have many hours working on anything without an alternator.

I put a meter on the output side of the voltage regulator and got 0v. Tested across the stator and got ~14 -> 32v AC. Tested Resistance across the stator and got .4. Figured I had voltage going in and none coming out it was the voltage regulator.

Replaced voltage regulator - same problem. Service manual says resistance across the stator should be between .1 and .01. ok..

Replaced Stator - Same problem.

Digging through the service manual I notice a picture of voltage regulator shows that the Previous Owner had the stator and charging pins reversed on the voltage regulator, FAWK!!

Hook it up correctly, and now I have 14v - 21v *negative* DC on the output side of the voltage regulator. I can meter at the charging circuit fuse, and get +12v on the battery side and -14/20v on the charging side..?

ok, so I get to buy *another* voltage regulator.. but why is the currently bad VR giving a negative reading on my meter? Is there another problem here I haven't discovered, or is this part of the backfeeding?

thanks,
Max

piston slapper
05-03-2010, 05:52 PM
Do you have 12 volts positive going to the regulator? Most of these regulators have a diode in them that will not allow the regulator to turn on until it recieves 12v from the battery. Check your fuses.

Make sure you didnt get a mismarked battery (Pos for Neg) Check polarity.
Make sure the probes are correct on the meter.

zukota
05-03-2010, 06:25 PM
Yes, when the key is in 'run' I have +12v to the voltage regulator.

Battery is labeled and wired correctly and I have normal chassis ground +12v system.

Simply the circuit goes Battery - Charging Fuse - Switch - Voltage Reguator.