PDA

View Full Version : Non-stick coating testing beginning this week

997Gene
05-07-2010, 11:29 PM
Hi all,

First time posting but have been reading, learning for some time. I have a 997 Zero turn and mow about 7 acres every week. Had to mow some wet spots earlier and was shocked at the build up. Must have taken 30 lbs scraping the deck.

I searched for the answer to this dilema and the most common reply is Fluid Film. It may prove to be the best but it's not immediately dry so that makes me wonder. I'm an engineer and wanted to prove what is the best. This is not a scientific test, and your results may vary.:dancing:

First thing I did take the deck off and wash the bottom, spent a bunch of time prepping the metal and just got done with my first coat of POR15. I wanted to start with a smooth hard surface and this stuff is tuff as nails. Will put second coat on in a few hours. I also metal prepped and POR15'd the blades, here why:

I want to do the testing on the blades first. I'm afraid that if I coat the deck with something that doesn't work, then it may stop the adhesion of what I find is the best. So I will first see what works best to keep the green crud from sticking to the blades. This way I can also make sure it wont eat through the POR15. If anything works on the blades, I would think it should work better on the deck.

I double bladed my deck this spring, two blades on each spindle, crisscrossed and tack weld to keep them at right angles. This gives me plenty of surfaces to work with. The green crud was almost quarter inch thick on the blades near the spindles and it was even on all the blades. I've notched the blades so I can keep track of what product I used where.

So what coatings am I going to try? I did as many hours of research and ended up deciding on the following:

Fluid Film
Liquid Wrench Silicone spray
Dupont Teflon Silicone Lubricant
Dupont Teflon Molti-use dry wax lubricant
Dri slide dry film lubricant with moly and graphite