PDA

View Full Version : Advertising question/ switching from lawncare to landscaping.

Somthinrandm
05-11-2010, 02:52 AM
Ok so im used to advertising for the normal lawn care work, I think its a different playing ground, you get as many lawns as you can do in one week, and then stop advertising and its the same routine the whole season. but being that i have a degree in landscape horticulture i wanted to break away from the lawn care that i did in highschool and some in college and move into doing more bigger scale landscape jobs.

How do you advertise for getting landscape jobs? I mean fliers on mailboxes are only getting me more lawn care jobs, its good money but eventually I want to be working all week on landscapes other than mulch beds, and plant 8 bushes. ITs easy to go around a neighborhood and tell who is having trouble cutting their lawn, but you can't leave a flier reading "your yard looks like crap you need some serious landscaping so give me a call" they probably won't be calling you. Im looking to do some patios, rockwalls, and planting front yards. But its summer and I, like everyone else, want to be working constantly. so im scared to drop my lawn clients. and not have any landscapes to do?
am i going about this with the wrong idea. A month ago I had a lawn care client a who just got his yard totally redone without me knowing Until i came to cut the grass as usual and found a whole new front yard. I mean good for the comp. but when i asked him why he didn't ask me to give him a quote after he knows I do landscapes and lawncare, he replied with "oh well you're just the lawn guy, but you do a damn good job"

Any thoughts?
thanks to all!!

AGLA
05-11-2010, 08:10 AM