PDA

View Full Version : Stamped vs Fabricated decks

cbegap
05-11-2010, 09:08 PM
I have heard a lot of anti stamped-deck talk and was wondering why everyone feels so much more in favor of fabricated decks. I have a stamped deck on a WB and it has better vacuum than my Ztr. Even having said that I still tend to prefer the idea of a fab deck over a stamped deck but I really don't know why. So is there some real issue with the stamped deck or is it just a perception? I have never had either of them have rust problems because I keep them painted and the wet crap off the tops. What are your opinions? Any bad experiences with stamped decks?

T.E.
05-11-2010, 09:47 PM
I had a toro z rider with the sfs deck I bent it very easily. I now have a grasshopper and I've ran into things on accident that that would've crumpled the stamped deck, and there is not so much as a dent. I'm also an ex welder.....I know that fabbed decks are stronger.

Lordtimothy
05-11-2010, 10:23 PM
Stamped Decks normally cut better from my point of view. However stamped decks are normally much lighter duty. Now there is some very strong stamped decks out there. Husqvarna's Combi Decks are stamped and made out of 7gauge steel. I also think some of John Deere 7 Iron decks are stamped if I remember correctly.

For the most part if you are a homeowner go with the stamped but if you are doing it for a living a Fab deck will stand up much better.

Timothy

mowerbrad
05-11-2010, 11:04 PM
All of John Deere's 7-iron decks are stamped. My bobcat and dixie chopper both had fabricated decks and my new deere obviously has the stamped deck like mentioned before. The dixie's deck was built quite heavy, lots of reinforcements. The bobcats deck wasn't quite as heavy duty as the dixie's but nonetheless, it still held up well. The deck on my Deere, is really heavy duty. I know many people say that the stamped decks are weak, but the deere deck is built quite tough and can handle alot.