PDA

View Full Version : Planting Wildflower.... HELP!!!

peahlybros.
05-12-2010, 12:49 PM
So i have this guy who called me the other day asking for me to give him a quote to plant about .3 acres of wildflower in his lawn. I have never done this before so I have been looking into it. Have any of you ever done this before? Should I remove all turf that is there or would rototilling it be enough?... I know that you dont want grass/weeds to start growing where the wildflowers are.

He was also telling me that he thinks that what he is looking for is to have the area slicerseeded with the wildflower. Is this the right thing to do?:confused:

Also he told me he bought the seed out of a catalog last year, do you think that it is too old?

Sorry for the long post, thank you for your help!!

Dreams To Designs
05-13-2010, 09:56 AM
Wildflower gardens often transcend into weed patches within a year or two. be sure this customer knows what he is in for.

If the seeds have been in a sealed container without temperature extremes and away from light, they should still be quite viable. You really want to look at the contents to determine what you can expect as far as germination and seed mixture. Often wildflower mixes contain quite a few annual seeds, that they hope will reseed next year and so on. Typically plants do not come true from seed and the germination rate will often be less with succeeding seasons. Some of the so called wildflowers can even be classified as weeds to many homeowners or gardeners, so beware of seed drift when planting and when the wildflowers go to seed.