PDA

View Full Version : Questions about concrete sub-base for Pavers

Juan if by land
05-12-2010, 01:22 PM
I'm a builder in NY.Many moons ago I receive a degree in Horticulture in Landscape Development at SUNY.Landscape is not my full time gig,but I try to get involved with it on most jobs because my clients trust me and because of the level of incompetence I see in the landscape industry.

About 20 years ago I started to see pavers installed on concrete sub-base slabs in these parts. Maybe an inch of sand or rock dust as a leveling base for the paver.Mortared down edging with open joints.

I recommended against this type of installation at the time.I was certain it would fail,because of frost heaving.Well,I've revisited these installations from time to time and they have held up and stayed true.Other installations,even with excellent edge containment have had settling issues.

So,I'm going to have to say that this type of installation seems superior.But I have some questions regarding the installation details.I will ask about top of the line installation methods,as these are the only one I would get involved in,anything below that I just won't get involved in.

So here are some questions.

In large installations,500 SF plus,are you using expansion joints on the concrete sub-base?

Are you using any type of drains in the slab itself to relieve water beneath the pavers?

If the slab is pitched and then terminates to a mortared down edge detail,where is the water going?

I was told of someone installing the edge pieces to the concrete with PL...huh?

tturbonegro
05-12-2010, 09:37 PM
the water is going where you tell it to go...just as if it were a white concrete pad
PL works great
drains & expansion when and where needed

Juan if by land
05-13-2010, 09:20 AM
the water is going where you tell it to go...just as if it were a white concrete pad
PL works great
drains & expansion when and where needed