PDA

View Full Version : Noob Edger Question

mastruck04
05-16-2010, 11:07 AM
I'm just starting out and have only a few small lawns. I want to stand out from my competition and from what I've seen no one edges. I would like to offer this to my customers and set myself apart.

I haven't used and edger before, but I'm pretty handy with my trimmer. Would you recommend a walk behind or a stick edger? I only would have around driveways to worry about.

What brands should I be looking at? I dont need top of the line at this point, but dont want crap either.

Thanks for the input.

jhawk60
05-16-2010, 11:31 AM
Walk behind edgers are much quicker for establishing an edge where there is a lot of overgrowth, stick edgers are much quicker for maintaining an established edge.

In your position, with just a few lawns, I would go with a walk behind.

mdlwn1
05-16-2010, 11:37 AM
Stick edgers are only faster if you arent very skilled with a walkbehind.

Darryl G
05-16-2010, 12:05 PM
Are you talking about asphalt driveways? If so, you don't want to be using an edger on them but instead turn your string trimmer on edge.

B Gillespie
05-16-2010, 12:13 PM
Stihl FC75 is one of the best and priced at about $300. Used models go for 125-175.

If you're cutting a lot of overgrown edges, look into the straight shaft models. They spin about half as fast; switch to the 4 sided Oregon blade after the edge is established for the cleanest cut.
Posted via Mobile Device

mastruck04
05-16-2010, 01:50 PM
Walk behind edgers are much quicker for establishing an edge where there is a lot of overgrowth, stick edgers are much quicker for maintaining an established edge.

In your position, with just a few lawns, I would go with a walk behind.

Is there a brand to steer towards or away from that matter? I've seen some used with 2 hp engines? Is that enough HP?

clean_cut
05-16-2010, 04:22 PM