PDA

View Full Version : Grass seeding ????'s

pt747
05-17-2010, 01:57 PM
1st off.........I know you guys can be harsh at times. I AM NO PROFESSIONAL. I HAVE A GREEN THUMB AND DO WELL WITH MY YARD 99% OF THE TIME, BUT HAVE A QUESTION.

Last year I had a new horseshoe driveway put in. I back filled it with new screened topsoil and put down Scotts fall time seed as it was in late October. My neighbor also had a driveway put in by same paving company and they back filled it as well and I put down the same Scotts fall seed for her and she has great grass now and I do not. I added 12 yards of new soil (again) to the bare spots about 2 weeks ago and put down KBG seed and its still hardly growing. When seeding I added Milorganite and starter fertilizer on my lawn. I did not do this to my neighbors, and she has lush, green grass surrounding her driveway. I dont get it. It has rained every other day here, so it is getting watered. When the soil was dry, I raked again and again and re-seeded and watered. I am clueless. Any advice would be appreciated.

And I DID make sure not to hit new areas with crab grass preventer in spring.

Thanks!

freddyc
05-18-2010, 05:05 PM
1st off.........I know you guys can be harsh at times. I AM NO PROFESSIONAL. I HAVE A GREEN THUMB AND DO WELL WITH MY YARD 99% OF THE TIME, BUT HAVE A QUESTION.