PDA

View Full Version : ***HELP on MULCH***

chuckhopkins76
05-20-2010, 04:26 PM
I know how to figure out how much mulch that I need for each job, but I do not know how to give a labor price. Do ya'll charge by the square foot, by the yard or by the hour? I have been mowing residential properties for 2 years full time and 100% legit (tax i.d., insurance & business license), but now I am getting into some commercial accounts and they want bids so I am lost on what to charge for mulching. On residentials I just shot out a price, but I need a real system. Thanks

fl-landscapes
05-20-2010, 04:35 PM
you need to come up with your hourly man hour rate. It's like a shop labor rate. Everyone has different rates based on their particular overhead, size of business, equipment being used, profit margins, geographic area, ect. ect. So figure what you need to make per man hour worked to cover your overhead, then figure what profit margin you need to stay in business and cover expenses, expected and unexpected costs, future equipment purcheses ect. That will give you an hourly rate per employee even if it is just you, add the materials to the hours it will take to get the job done and bingo you got your answer. Maybe mark up your materials.....its a shell game with things like that you either get the price built in to your labor rate or you have a labor rate plus material mark ups.

Lbilawncare
05-20-2010, 06:54 PM
Take into consideration how far you will have to wheelbarrow it too.

stephen424
05-20-2010, 08:23 PM
charge your man hour x the number of yards (at least that's what i do)

simple mulch job .... $30/yard
complex mulch job ... $45/yard

plus materials of course

i just done 32 yards of brown dyed last week.

brown dyed here is $32/yard ... $1024 plus tax
i charged $35/yard for labor....so $1120

I paid 3 guys $12/hour to install the mulch
took them 6 hours...but i gave them $100 each

I made $820 not doing a damn thing

chuckhopkins76
05-20-2010, 08:54 PM