PDA

View Full Version : solo artist out there

mower BILL
07-12-2002, 09:37 PM
IM CURIOUS, HOW YOU GUYS OR GALS DO IT BY YOURSELF. THE MOWING ,WEEDPULLING, TRIMMING. ETC. OR IS IT JUST MOW BLOW AND GO. THANKS BILL.:alien:

VLM
07-12-2002, 10:36 PM
I assume by your question that you are just starting out in the business. I have been working by myself for over 11 years, full time since 95. The first few years I never thought I would be able to make a good living, but then one day after many years of hard work and building a clientel it dawned on me I was doing pretty darn well. All you can do is your best every time as if it were your own lawn and you were expecting guests. If you do that and your rates are reasonable but high enough to make a moderate profit then you will do fine. I wont go into the debate about hiring help, there have been hundreds of threads on that topic allready. But to answer your question, no its not mow, blow and go its mow, edge, trim (including all beds), blow and go. And I dont pull weeds, never could make any money on it.

We do 4 U
07-12-2002, 10:43 PM
For me, it depends on the customer. I have a lot of mow, tirm,blow and go type customers but I want to get more in the "high end" maintence, of which I have a few and am trying to get more. It is all in what you want to do and like to do.

geogunn
07-12-2002, 11:04 PM
Originally posted by mower BILL
HOW YOU GUYS...DO IT BY YOURSELF.(?)

bill--I don't do it by myself unless you are talking the lawn biz...exclusively.

in the lawn biz...around here, if it gets done, I do it by myself!:p

GEO

proline32
07-13-2002, 12:46 AM