PDA

View Full Version : Over Grown landscape Help

blkvette78
05-24-2010, 09:58 PM
I need advise on whats the best approach to clearing landscapes that already have flowers and shrubs but are over grown with weeds and grass. They dont want to start over just clean up what they already have. Is there another way of doing it other than all by hand? After that they do want to put down mulch. I am somewhat new in the business also.

nepatsfan
05-24-2010, 10:01 PM
grub hoes and weeding.

White Gardens
05-26-2010, 09:43 AM
Do it by hand. Take a shovel and go around and pop the weeds up a little first to loosen the roots so that when you go to pull them you'll get them out easier and get most of the roots at the same time.

I'd do a follow up a couple of weeks later and spray anything that is coming back. Then up-sell the customer on a maintenance schedule so it doesn't happen again.

Fahzu
05-30-2010, 12:56 AM
Gotta do it by hand, man. A good claw tool, either short handle or long will help loosen the weeds and then pull. Don't spray any round-up or other weed killer, you'll damage the surrounding plants. You can spray a selective herbicide that targets the grass but not the other broadleaf plants. If you're new to the business, I wouldn't bother with spraying though. Estimate the job for plenty of time so you can be thorough, grab your MP3 player and get to work. It will be over before you know it, then you will have a happy customer and money in hand.

360ci
05-30-2010, 11:37 AM
For larger weeded areas couldn't you spray vinegar over the area in question? I don't know if it'll kill all the roots but I would assume it would make clean up a bit easier? Any thoughts? I have a similar overgrown weed problem that I've been asked to deal with but haven't gotten around to tackling it yet.

cgaengineer
05-30-2010, 01:10 PM