PDA

View Full Version : When is the right time to water?

bans25
07-14-2002, 01:35 PM
Hi!
im new at this lawn thing so please forgive my stupid questions,
when during the day is the best time to water?
thanks

-Bill

Brickman
07-14-2002, 02:28 PM
You will get as many anwsers to this question as you would if you asked which was best, Ford or Chev.

My opinion for what it is worth is to water at a time during the day when you will have as little wind as possible. Now for your area that could be any time. Here in WY we can have wind when ever. But usually night time is when there is less.

My suggestion for your area is to water in the morning before you would be using water for other things in the house, showers and the washer. That way the lawn doesn't sit so long wet and increase the possibility for fungus to start.

If any body tells you do not water during the day because the sun will burn the grass just walk away. That is an old wives fable.

lawnstudent
07-14-2002, 07:56 PM
Fungus is your biggest concern when watering. Well, the avoidance of fungus should be your concern. You don't want your lawn wet for long periods of time. Watering late in the day so that the grass is still wet at night will ensure the longest wet period for your lawn and increase the risk of fungus. AM is generally best period because grass dries in the sun. Hot afternoon is not the best because you get so much evaporation. Wind is not good as Brickman has indicated. If the night is going to be humid and the grass will be damp from the dew (temp below the dew point), then what does it matter if you water over night? It doesn't. Point is water when you can. Water when conditons are best for watering if you have the time. Just think about fungus. Oz. of prevention really is better than lb. of cure. Good luck.

jim

lawnstudent
07-14-2002, 07:59 PM