PDA

View Full Version : Good help?

wattsup
07-14-2002, 07:55 PM
I am a solo operator, but would love to have some good help. My problem is; I have gone through 5 people this year. Some could not do the job correctly and some just quit showing up. I may be a poor manager/teacher, but I am very laid back and easy to get along with. I am however, very picky about quality of work. I show them how I want the job done, and they never do it right. I have a high schooler who has worked with me temp. for the past 3 years and I have to show him how to use the trimmer every time he helps. He works very hard, but he does not have the "Eye" you must have in this business. If there is long grass cut it. I spend more time inspecting their work than it would take to do the work myself. Anyway, does anyone else have this problem? If so, how do you combat it. Am I missing something in my way of thinking. Do not hold back lay it on me.

gogetter
07-14-2002, 11:06 PM
I have no help for you, but a question to sorta help me out with something.

Are these full time or part time helpers you're talking about?

robert payer
07-14-2002, 11:23 PM
Let new workers know that the first three weeks are only a trial. They will need to work harder. Higher wages are not the answer either. Raises only after 30 days. When interviewing ask prospect what motivates them. This might also help a great deal.

strickdad
07-15-2002, 12:05 AM
i dont really agree robert, ask them in the interview what motovates them??? money...

Brickman
07-15-2002, 12:12 AM
wattsup it sounds like my experience with workers. Pretty much impossible to find good help. I can tell you a higher wage aint the only answer. Last year I paid $10 for help that was worth $5.50. This year it is $8 for help that is not worth more than that.

Good luck man. I too am laid back and easy going most of the time, but anal about the look of my lawns. Help will never get it, that is for sure.

Shady Brook
07-15-2002, 08:38 AM