PDA

View Full Version : lawn mowing business or junk hauling business?

rosarioslawncutters
05-28-2010, 05:53 PM
hi...i have been in the lawn care business for little over 3 years....i was thinking of not doing mowing and doing junk hauling service...is this a good choice....

i dont really have that many mowing accounts, all i make is $600 to $750 weekly...working 6 days a week and towing a trailer all day long

i do junk hauling jobs here and there so i have some experience (been doing it for about 1 year)

thing is that with 2 junk hauling jobs that i do a week will make almost the same amount of cash as if i was mowing but with a hole lot less time....

i usually charge $350 a trailer load and it usually takes me about 2.5 hours of work ( counting loading the junk in the trailer then dumping it at the land fill)
when only in 2.5 hours all i can mow is maybe 3 properies at $30 each (counting drive time) total cash $90 making 3 different stops

so far i do 1 junk removal job per week without advertizing too hard...

i was thinking of eliminating the mowing to replace with the junk hauling but keep everything else like fall/spring clean ups, snow plowing

what do you guys think?

TPS
05-28-2010, 06:01 PM
The obvious choice, if you can get enough work, is hauling. My question is, do you need a DEP# to haul? In NJ you need a DEP# and it takes a while to get one here. Your supposed to have a DEP 401 Exempt # to haul grass clippings and yard waste also. Seems like fraily easy work and good money. Maybe cut mowing down to 3 days a week and haul the other 2 until you get enough work to haul 5 days a week.

rickyg
05-28-2010, 06:10 PM
Something that I have learned from my father watching him work for the the last 25 years, don't limit yourself to just one thing. Do whatever brings you money (legally of course). I think you should focus on what you enjoy doing but be open to make money doing whatever you can.

mbrew
05-28-2010, 06:51 PM