PDA

View Full Version : Z-turns make me sick as a dog!

SLGLawnServer
05-31-2010, 11:42 PM
Am I alone on this one? The center of rotation is what kills me like being spun around in place. I'll feel fine until I stand up then the whole world starts spinning and I wanna puke! Takes an hour for me to recover, but until then, I'm out of commission. I hate taking motion sickness pills because they make me feel like I shouldn't drive while I'm on them. I've had to resort to a walk behind, but I'm considering a good quality tractor. I'm getting too old to walk behind a mower all day since I'm a stand alone operator/owner and have to do the work of a crew (not big enough to hire by no means). Just wondering if I was the only strange one here.

sdk1959
05-31-2010, 11:53 PM
Am I alone on this one? The center of rotation is what kills me like being spun around in place. I'll feel fine until I stand up then the whole world starts spinning and I wanna puke! Takes an hour for me to recover, but until then, I'm out of commission. I hate taking motion sickness pills because they make me feel like I shouldn't drive while I'm on them. I've had to resort to a walk behind, but I'm considering a good quality tractor. I'm getting too old to walk behind a mower all day since I'm a stand alone operator/owner and have to do the work of a crew (not big enough to hire by no means). Just wondering if I was the only strange one here.

If all that turning is from doing stripes then stop and mow in a circle pattern. If your customers don't care if the lawns are striped then why should you and no more dizziness.:dizzy: If they do care about stripes then your S.O.L.

ToroLandscaper
06-01-2010, 12:03 AM

I have never had this problem, however have you thought about not taking such "extreme" turns? For instance instead of doing a "zero degree turn" doing three point turns?