PDA

View Full Version : French Drain question.

Firefighter337
06-03-2010, 01:05 AM
Long, bare with me.

I am in the process of re-landscaping my yard.

Earlier this week I used a tractor and a box blade to grade my yard. I had a slight grade going away from the house. Looking from the street towards my front door, the house had a right to left grade, the left side of my yard is almost 12 inches lower than the right.... Well I created a slightly steeper grade from right to left grade. Closer to a 14" decline. BUT It rises up almost 6" up, as it goes to the back yard.

WELL tonight we had a heavy rain, and there is a 3" pond in my front yard, the full length of my home. From the foundation to almost 8 feet out.

MY question. I know I need a drain, I am no expert. But I have some experience. All of my experience has been a drain installed the the curb, cut the curb, have someone re-patch the curb, etc. I know it needs a place for the water to go. But its not going to be easy at all to get he drain to where it needs to go.

I called a friend who does much more hardscaping than I do. He said if it was up to him, he would tie a french drain, directly into the sewer clean-out already installed to the left of my house. That way I would be using the 4" pipe all the way to the storm drain under the road.

So I called the previous owner, he told me when the house was built, the clean-up was installed with a check valve close to the house. I have never heard of a sewer system check valve.

It makes sense to me because if I had a yard that did slope to the road, and needed a french drain, the water would end up in the same sewer drain where the rest of the storm water goes. However, I have no idea of the codes etc. But I can call.

Has anyone heard of this? But this drain would be 50' long tied into the sewer pipe vs. 50' then 190' to the rear of my property to the creek or installing a sump pump and taking it to the road that way.