PDA

View Full Version : hostas help

ccas
06-05-2010, 03:07 PM
So... Im new at this. I have a fairly long driveway.(75 feet) I want to plant some hostas along the edge. I know I can divide the ones I have, but I'm wondering if I can just buy the bulbs without buying the whole plant.

whosedog
06-05-2010, 04:11 PM
I found a web site that sells hosta roots for $10 each called (bloomin on the east end)That's kind of expensive you might save money dividing the rhizomes from your existing bunches,each root should in time grow another plant;but the best time is springtime.I love hostas for their low maintenance,I've dug up bunches from people that wanted them gone,just stuck them in the ground no water or any care and they are thriving.

VO Landscape Design
06-05-2010, 06:40 PM
Remember Hosta's like shade. They will grow great in the sun just look like crap. We love Hosta's here because our yard is mainly shade. Check out local plant sales if you are looking for the "plain everyday ones". We have so many potted up from our yard we sell on the weekends, a very hardy plant.
VO

beegreenlandcare
06-05-2010, 06:42 PM
i don't have any idear why u would want bulbs. I'm not sure what your pricing is in your area but, I can buy potted Hostas that are about 12" tall for $11 ea. So, for a $1 more it'd be alot better buy.
Have you tried your local nursery. I think you be surprised to see what kind of pricing you get when buying a dozen or more at a time.:rolleyes:

Think Green
06-05-2010, 09:59 PM
CCAS,
What species of Hosta and do you have partial sun along this 75 foot driveway?
The hosta will grow in sun but will scorch severely if you plant them this way.
How about the dormant season............the bare ground during the fall and winter months.

ccas
06-06-2010, 11:39 AM
I just figured if I could get the bulbs and plant them it would save a lot of time and money. Bulbs seem like they should be easier to plant

whosedog
06-06-2010, 11:55 AM