PDA

View Full Version : Synthetic 2 cycle oil mix ratio

ed2hess
06-05-2010, 05:30 PM
I am in the process of switching from Echo oil to Schaeffer 2-cycle synthetic oil. I read on lawnsite all the time that you can go to 80:1. Where is the source of this recommendation? Anybody know if trimmer technical people have agreed with this?

I am a little hesitant since I have been running 50:1 and the only problem is port and piston getting dirty. I am now into the 4-mix stuff and I don't want those valves getting dirty.

Turf Dawg
06-05-2010, 07:48 PM
I think it depends on the oil. I have seen some syns that say 50:1 but my Amsoil Sabre recomends 100:1. I mix it at 80:1 though because the 8oz bottle will make 5 gallons of 80:1 mix [two 2.5 gallons for me]

milkie62
06-05-2010, 10:55 PM
I have been using Amsoil exclusively for about 7 years now on everything---saws,mowers,boats,and snowmobiles.
My Amsoil dealer said even though he sells the stuff he would never go 100:1.He told me he mixes 80:1 for all he small hand held equipment.You can never go wrong with 50:1 on a quality oil.I usually mix at 40:1 with no problems.

Pennington Lawncare
06-06-2010, 12:30 AM
Amsoil Saber in my hand held stuff and Amsoil small engine oil in my mower. I've never heard of Schaeffer.

Alan0354
06-06-2010, 04:01 AM
I am in the process of switching from Echo oil to Schaeffer 2-cycle synthetic oil. I read on lawnsite all the time that you can go to 80:1. Where is the source of this recommendation? Anybody know if trimmer technical people have agreed with this?

I am a little hesitant since I have been running 50:1 and the only problem is port and piston getting dirty. I am now into the 4-mix stuff and I don't want those valves getting dirty.

What is the bottle say? Unless the bottle suggest leaner than 50:1, you really want to push it?