PDA

View Full Version : Proper pH for Bermuda?

T56 Impala
06-08-2010, 07:54 PM
I posted some other threads, but I guess I put them in the wrong place. I'm a noob, what can I say?

What is the proper pH for Bermuda? Mine is currently 5.2 (I grow roses and have a tester). My front yard is sad. VERY sad. I recently fired my mower guy and Weed Man service. They both had a hand in killing my front yard. Weed Man more than anyone, but that's another story.

So, any clues? Oh, and what should I use to bring it to the proper pH if needed?

Marcos
06-10-2010, 09:54 AM
I posted some other threads, but I guess I put them in the wrong place. I'm a noob, what can I say?

What is the proper pH for Bermuda? Mine is currently 5.2 (I grow roses and have a tester). My front yard is sad. VERY sad. I recently fired my mower guy and Weed Man service. They both had a hand in killing my front yard. Weed Man more than anyone, but that's another story.

So, any clues? Oh, and what should I use to bring it to the proper pH if needed?

As compared to roses, soil pH is only a small part of the equation when it comes to growing turf.
What type of soil is this bermuda growing in? clayey? sandy?
Does it get annual core aeration? (thatch buildup?)
How often has it been fertilized?
Can you maybe post a couple digital pics of the lawn on this thread, for us to see? :)

Being here in s. Ohio I'm no southern grass expert, but from my limited experiences with it over the last 30 years I've watched bermudagrass grow & thrive in some awfully crummy, heavy clay, rocky alkaline soils.

You were right to fire any lawn care company that couldn't get to the bottom of a problem, so long as you were adhering to any/ all cultural maintenance recommendations & advice they may have been giving you.
If they weren't giving you advice while the lawn was going to hell....shame on them because they got exactly what they deserved.