PDA

View Full Version : All the lawns are dying!

fastpine
06-24-2010, 09:58 PM
.....I have 10 res accounts and 9 of them are getting these large, spread out, rusty brown spots...Some worse than others. One is sooo bad that she canceled her service because the whole lawn is lookin like a hay field. Im terribly concerned that other customers will follow suit as there wont be any lawn to mow here in a month or so..

One of them we recently areated, and fertilized..Its the worst. Large sections are dying!

Ive noticed it all over town. Even the city maintained grass, and some golf courses are getting it..

I cannot afford to loose these accounts. I figure its a fungus of somekind.

This is my first year in the business and I have no idea what to do,,

Please help.

Cutter1
06-24-2010, 09:59 PM
post some pics

ukcats
06-24-2010, 10:02 PM
alot of my lawns are looking the same way. However ours are dying due to lack of rain. Its been along time since we had a nice all day rain

fastpine
06-24-2010, 10:10 PM
post some pics

I will ASAP..The brown/dead spots resemble old school cammo pattern. and they seem to be starting from the tip of the blades and working down till the whole area is dead..

Multiple customers commented that they have been watering a ton, to no avail.....

fatboynormmie
06-24-2010, 10:20 PM
You might have dropped to much fert. and have burned the lawn

ICT Bill
06-24-2010, 10:42 PM
without pictures or being onsite it is impossible to tell what is going on, contact your local extention agent as quickly as possible, they will know

topsites
06-24-2010, 10:47 PM
No, it ain't a fungus, at least I don't think it is.
Most likely it's called summer.

Some is unavoidable but chances are certain mowers need to slow it way down.

The heat and lack of rain are hard on turf, then when we cut it that's even harder.
Technically speaking mowing a lawn is not "good" for the turf, it makes it look nice but
from the plant's perspective it's not a healthy thing to do.