PDA

View Full Version : knowledge

hickmanlawncare
07-26-2002, 01:20 AM
ok i am taking the test to get certified to do the weed control but the question now is how do i get the knowledge needed to do this(i am still learning all of this)

65hoss
07-26-2002, 01:34 AM
Agriculture Ext. Agency should have info for you. Call them.

Bob Minney
07-26-2002, 09:17 AM
State dept. of agriculture. If they handle tests and lisc. then they should be able to help you get info.

Hawkeye5
07-26-2002, 09:38 AM
Your State Dept. of Agriculture Extension Service will have information on where you can get study material. One of the State Universities will have classes you can attend. Check out your Dept. of Agriculture web-site, there may be links and information on resources there. JD

ProMo
07-26-2002, 09:55 AM
http://ag.utah.gov/plantind/pest_app.html

rkbrown
07-26-2002, 10:52 AM
hickmanlawncare:

I do not know the specific regulations for Utah, but I am currently going down the certification path for Texas. I ordered the study materials from the extension service and recieved them earlier in the week. It consists of about 4 books: one general pest control (including federal regulations), one for weed identifying, one for Texas state laws and regulations, and one specifically for Turf and ornamentals. They do have couses available, but it is not required, so I will do the self-study method. In addition to passing the test, you need to have proof of financial responsibility (insurance), and obtain a nurseryman's liscence ($60 sent to Austin), then send all your paperwork to Austin, including the required monetary contribution, and they will send you your licence.

ProMo
07-26-2002, 11:01 AM
im still waiting for my lic its been 4 weeks since i sent everything in

rixtag
07-26-2002, 01:31 PM