PDA

View Full Version : Overseeding Advice

rabernethy4
08-06-2010, 02:04 PM
Hello. I recently moved into a new house in SE Michigan. The lawn looks OK, but I've run into a couple problems. First, I got blasted by dollar spot and spurge. I'm currently trying to control both of those problems. Second, the soil seems pretty compacted and there's a lot of thatch. Judging by the condition of the rest of the landscaping, I'd say the lawn has been a bit neglected over the years. I decided I would overseed the lawn this fall and I'm looking for some advice since I've never done this before.

Here's some more background info:

I think the lawn is mostly KBG, but I'll snag some pictures tonight and confirm
The backyard has a large expanse that gets a lot of sun and a lot of traffic (kids)
Due to the grade, the sides of the house tend to stay wetter longer
There are a couple trees, but overall the lawn is really sunny

Here's my plan:

Thoroughly water lawn the day before
Mow existing grass (1.5 to 2 inches; collect clippings)
Dethatch
Aerate (2 to 3 passes; 20 to 40 holes per sq. foot)
Apply seed
Apply compost topdressing
Apply fertilizer
Irrigate appropriately

Here are my questions:

What kind of seed should I get?
What kind of fertilizer should I get and when should I apply it?
What's the proper irrigation schedule after overseeding?

rabernethy4
08-06-2010, 02:05 PM
What is the difference between these Scott's products?

TurfBuilder Sun & Shade Mix
TurfBuilder High Traffic Mix
TurfBuilder Heat-Tolerant Blue Mix
TurfBuilder Kentucky Bluegrass Mix

I assume they have different cultivars and mix ratios, but I'm finding it hard to figure what they are and which type is appropriate. Any suggestions?

rabernethy4
08-06-2010, 11:29 PM
This thread needs more pictures! :) Can you tell what type of grass that is? Nothing had seed heads, unfortunately.

Smallaxe
08-06-2010, 11:43 PM
Get the water away from the house... Very dangerous situation in the midwest...

rabernethy4