PDA

View Full Version : Walker/back pain

ipm
08-01-2002, 11:57 PM
I have been using Walker mowers for 12 years or so and have noticed that the new model has changed the hand controls a bit. I only have about 300 hrs on the new machine, but left side of my back hurts like hell and was wondering if anyone else has this problem.

Ax Man
08-02-2002, 08:02 AM
Adjust the levers yet?
If your steering levers are too far ahead, that could cause some imbalance in the old spine.
I did considerable tweaking to my Walker this spring when I started putting the hour to it.
(350 so far)
I eased the tension on the forward speed control. That made my right hand feel better.
Adjusted the traction control levers for proper distance.
(I'm a short stepper)
I wouldn't sell this machine for anything now.
And I cant wait to try the 29hp liquid cooled/fuel injected model!
Good luck!

Brickman
08-02-2002, 10:31 AM
Mine hurt most of the time. I chalked this up to the stiff suspension and the rough lawns I was mowing. Now I wonder.

olfrt
08-02-2002, 04:06 PM
If adjusting the handles doesn't solve the problem. what tire pressure are you running??

try 15 lbs or a little less to let your tires act as shocks to asorb more of the shock load

Hope you feel better

They have a gray confort seat available also. It's not cheap but I like mine it has about 4 inch thick foam on the bottom cushion.

:blob1:

ipm
08-02-2002, 08:27 PM
Hey thanks for the help. I do have the hand controls pulled back as far as they will go, air pressure reasonable. I think it is the design. Don't get me wrong Walker has an awesome machine. I guess if you sat in the same position for hours on end you will have problems. It is not so much the terrain, it is the way your upper body is turned to the right and left shoulder down. Today I tried driving it with both hands(hoping to straighten my posture) very difficult. I guess I will just have to deal with it.

captdevo
08-02-2002, 10:57 PM