PDA

View Full Version : Lawn Replacement in Dubai

loicdxb
08-09-2010, 09:06 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie and this is my first post on this forum so please be lenient.

Here is the subject: We finished couple of months back a residential project including mainly hard landscaping (pathways, flowerbeds, water features, terrace,...) and we've provided the lawn as well.

Most of the lawn we use here in Dubai is hybrid Bermuda Grass (but I would not be able to give you the exact name). Anyway, since the client was leaving the country to spend July away and probably to reduce his facility bill (water is fairly expensive here), he reduced the irrigation program and called us few days back complaining about burn grass and brown spots.

What I need to say is that the client wanted to go cheap since he just purchased the house, so my engineer proposed some regular sprinklers. Obviously because of the free shape of the landscaping and in the corners irrigation coverage was not optimum so grass effectively burn totally (it's really hot in here in summer) but it's no really big deal since we can change the Bermuda.

The point is, despite his new irrigation schedule, his water bill is still pretty high so he decided to go for a water well. But even by drilling 70 to 75 feet deep the water will be quite salty, around 2,500 total ppm.

So here is what I would suggest:

- First :change the regular sprinklers with rotor sprinklers (Rainbird 3500 series most probably) - less sprinklers but better coverage.
- Second: Remove the Bermuda Grass and put some SeaIsle 2000 (same price that Bermuda - Here around 0.3$ per Sqft). SeaIsle 2000 should be fine with a 2500ppm water - What do you think ?
- Third : Eventually overseed with Perennial Ryegrass for winter (here winter is kinda warm not less then 20 degrees Celsius.) so lawn will be ever green.

Do you guys have any other suggestions or better ideas ??? I'm open to anything since my customer is happy with it.