PDA

View Full Version : Does Anyone Have Experience Installing EP HENRY Cast Veneer Stone?

westernmdlawn
08-14-2010, 03:34 PM
I have a client who is asking us to install cast veneer stone onto her existing house foundation (painted concrete blocks).

I have done some research with the EP HENRY cast veneer stone line and installation guide, it seems like it isn't too difficult. I have never done any mortared masonry work before. I really want to learn though, so I am trying to decide if this is too difficult for a novice to attempt or not. I though there may be a chance I could install it properly since it is "easy to install" according to EP HENRY.

What do you guys suggest? Any tips, tricks, etc.?

Thanks!:drinkup:

westernmdlawn
08-15-2010, 10:11 AM
bump bump....

Bru75
08-15-2010, 06:08 PM
You might want to pass if you have no experience with mortared work, It just depends on your ability to research and learn quickly.
If you feel confident that you can do it and don't mind taking the risk I say go for it.
If you do, I suggest reading as much on the subject as you can before starting, study examples of good stonework (real stonework because that's what you want it to look like when you're finished), pay close attention to how the corners and joints are done (inconsistent joint widths will ruin the look of the finished job), get the foundation surface perfectly clean (you might have to grind off the paint), avoid long vertical joints, and follow the manufacturer's instructions to the letter.
It also depends on your relationship with your customer, be up front that this is your first attepmt as they are also taking a risk on you.
You might want to look into other manufacturers as well, there are a lot of options and prices and quality vary widely.

BOEpavers
08-16-2010, 10:09 AM